Spring 2016 Commencement Ceremony

The Department of Statistics held its spring commencement ceremony on May 7. Undergraduate and graduate students happily received their degrees in front of an audience full of family and friends. Visit the Department’s Flickr page to see more pictures from the event.

The commencement speaker was Warwick A. Arden, provost and executive vice chancellor at NC State. The ceremony also featured remarks from Eric Maxon, an undergraduate who is majoring in statistics with a minor in biology. He is planning to attend NC State’s Institute for Advanced Analytics in order to obtain a master of science in analytics.

In addition, several new faculty members were welcomed into the Department: Ryan Martin, Brooke Alhanti and Shu Yang.

Thanks to the generosity of an alumnus, Dennis Boos was the inaugural recipient of the new Dennis Boos Citizenship Award. The award recognizes Boos’ commitment to the Department and its people. Todd Wilson received the Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award. Qian Guan became a Gertrude M. Cox Achievement Award Fellow and received the Outstanding Ph.D. Qualifier Exam award. So Young Park received the Paige Plagge Graduate Award for Citizenship. Lastly, Rachel Marceau West received the Francis G. Giesbrecht Award for Statistical Consulting.

Congratulations to all of our graduates. The Department wishes you all the best in your future endeavors.