Skip to main content

Department Awards

Faculty Awards

Only current Statistics faculty are eligible to receive a Department Faculty Award, or to nominate others for these awards. Faculty are not allowed to receive any particular award, e.g., The Mason Award, more than once in any consecutive five-year period. No faculty member can receive more than one of these awards in any given year.

Student Awards

Each year, the department gives the following student awards.

  • B. B. Bhattacharyya Excellence Award
    Honoring the legacy of Dr. B. B. Bhattacharyya, a faculty member in the Statistics Department at North Carolina State University from 1963 to 2007, with a generous gift from Dr. Helen Bhattacharyya, this award honors a student who has excelled in their mathematical statistics studies and shows promise of exceptional dissertation research.
    Recent Winners:
    • 2022-2023 Jake Koerner and Samhita Pal
    • 2021-2022 Neil Dey
    • 2020-2021 Annie Tang
  • Paige Plagge Award
    Given for good citizenship to “a graduate student with an outstanding academic record, who in the judgment of the committee has especially enhanced the life of fellow students with encouragement, generosity and/or humor.”

    Nominations may be submitted to the DGPs by students, staff and faculty of the Department of Statistics. All Statistics graduate students enrolled during the current academic year are eligible. It will be helpful to the committee if letters (emails) of nomination include specific incidents related to the nominee’s generosity, encouragement and/or humor in enhancing the life of the fellow students, in addition to any general comments about the nominee.
    Recent Winners:
    • 2022-2023 Naomi Giertych and Hongjian Yang
    • 2021-2022 Xiaoxia Champon and Jimmy Hickey
    • 2020-2021 Alvin Sheng and Anna Wojciechowski
    • 2019-2020 Eric Yanchenko
    • 2018-2019 Zhou Lan and Rebecca North
    • 2017-2018 Todd Wilson
    • 2016-2017 Chengchun Shi
    • 2015-2016 So Young Park
    • 2014-2015 Longshaokan Wang and Munir Winkel

  • Outstanding Teaching Assistant Award (from Faculty Nominations)
    Recent Winners:
    • 2022-2023 Sihyung Park
    • 2021-2022 Honghe (Joe) Zhao and Cole Manschot
    • 2020-2021 Luming Chen and Peter Norwood
    • 2019-2020 Leo Oliveira Gois Cella and Parker Trostle
    • 2018-2019 Stephanie Chen
    • 2017-2018 Meredith King and Lu Lu
    • 2016-2017 Jonathan Leirer
    • 2015-2016 Todd Wilson
    • 2014-2015 Brian Naughton and Bo “Paul” Ning

  • Gertrude M. Cox Achievement Award for Outstanding PHD Qualifier Exam
    Recent Winners:
    • 2022-2023 Donjae Son
    • 2021-2022 Samhita Pal and Shubhajit Sen
    • 2020-2021 Qiang Heng
    • 2019-2020 Yunshu Zhang
    • 2018-2019 Sheng Zhang
    • 2017-2018 Tuhin Majumder and Runzhe Wan
    • 2016-2017 Rui Zhu
    • 2015-2016 Qian Guan
    • 2014-2015 Liuyi Hu

  • Francis G. Giesbrecht Award for Statistical Consulting
    Recent Winners:
    • 2022-2023 Khuzaima Hameed
    • 2021-2022 Hunter Jiang and Alvin Sheng
    • 2020-2021 Pei-Shien (Candace) Wu
    • 2019-2020 Matt Miller
    • 2018-2019 Marschall Furman
    • 2017-2018 Susheela Singh
    • 2016-2017 Alexandra Larsen
    • 2015-2016 Rachel Marceau West
    • 2014-2015 Alison Miller and Andrew Wilcox

  • Rawlings Family Award for Communication in Data Science
    The Rawlings Family Award for Communication in Data Science is given to students who have demonstrated great communication skills in class, active participation in classes, answering questions, asking questions, making great project presentations, and who have also done well grade-wise in their classes.
    Recent Winners:
    • 2022-2023 Michael Lightfoot

  • William H. Swallow Fellowship Award
    The William H. Swallow Fellowship Award is given to students who help to diversify our graduate program, such as help with the department recruiting events and help with the department diversity missions. Both master and PhD students are eligible.
    Recent Winners:
    • 2022-2023 Xiaoxia Champon

  • William Mendenhall Graduate Award for Excellence in Teaching of Statistics
    Recent Winners
    • 2022-2023 Elizabeth Davis