Stefanski Named Chair of AAAS Statistics Section

Leonard Stefanski, head of NC State’s Department of Statistics, was recently elected as chair of the statistics section of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). He will begin his one-year term as chair-elect on Feb. 21 before serving as chair during 2021 and retiring chair during 2022.

Stefanski, the R.A. Fisher Distinguished Professor of Statistics, has been on the NC State faculty since 1986 and is well-known for his work in measurement error modeling. He has also made important contributions in variable selection, biostatistics, generalized linear models, environmental statistics and other areas, including co-developing SIMEX, a widely used Monte Carlo method for the analysis of data measured with error. He has also authored or co-authored a number of significant scientific publications and books in the field and is a frequent conference presenter and an elected fellow of the American Statistical Association.

Stefanski earned a Ph.D. and an M.S. in statistics from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and a B.S. in mathematics from the University of Connecticut.

AAAS is the world’s largest multidisciplinary scientific society and a leading publisher of cutting-edge research through its Science family of journals. It has individual members in more than 91 countries around the globe. The Statistics section of AAAS promotes understanding of statistics by presenting symposia and sponsoring speakers at AAAS meetings and by encouraging members and their colleagues to present their work in ways other scientists and the public can understand.

Stefanski is one of three Department of Statistics faculty on the AAAS Statistics leadership team. Alyson Wilson, professor and associate vice chancellor for national security and special research initiatives, is secretary, and Butch Tsiatis, emeritus professor, is on the Electorate Nominating Committee.

This post was originally published in College of Sciences News.