Marie Davidian AAAS Fellow

Seven North Carolina State University scientists have been elected Fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).

Dr. Robert R.H. Anholt, professor of zoology and genetics; Dr. Vincent L. Chiang, professor of plant biochemistry; Dr. Marie Davidian, William Neal Reynolds Professor of Statistics; Dr. Joseph DeSimone, Kenan Distinguished Professor of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering; Dr. Gregory Gibson, William Neal Reynolds Distinguished Professor of Genetics; Dr. Robert M. Kelly, Alcoa Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; and Dr. Coby Schal, Blanton J. Whitmire Professor of Entomology, are among 449 scientists to be honored by AAAS.

AAAS is the world’s largest general scientific society, and the publisher of the journal Science. Each year, the AAAS Council elects members whose efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished. Fellows are nominated by their peers and undergo an extensive review process.

Davidian’s research in the field of biostatistics has led her to develop statistical methods for the analysis of data from clinical trials and epidemiological investigations studying treatments for cancer, HIV, and cardiovascular diseases. She is closely involved with biostatistical training programs for both undergraduate and graduate students. Most recently, Davidian was part of a team that received a $3.5 million grant from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Disease to develop mathematical and statistical models that will help physicians design new treatment strategies for HIV-infected patients.

The NC State faculty members will be recognized at the AAAS annual meeting in San Francisco in February 2007.