2016 JSM Student Awards

Several graduate students received awards at the 2016 Joint Statistical Meetings conference in Chicago.

Sam Morris was the winner of the very competitive 2016 student paper competition sponsored by the Environmental Section of the American Statistical Association (ASA) for his work entitled “A space-time skew-t model for threshold exceedances.” This work was in collaboration with Brian Reich, Emeric Thibaud and Daniel Cooley.

Teng Zhang was the winner of the very competitive student travel award of the Biometrics Section of the American Statistical Association. The research that led to this award was in collaboration with Teng’s advisors, Jessie Jeng and Jung-Ying Tzeng.

Ailin Fan was a winner of the Biopharmaceutical Section Student Paper Award competition for her innovative work on “Change-Plane Analysis for Subgroup Detection and Sample Size Calculation.” This was collaboration with her extraordinary advisors, Wenbin Lu and Rui Song. Yiqing Tian received the ASA Quality and Productivity Section Travel Award.